Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Join my Notify List to
get an email
when I add
a new story!
BEWARE!
NOTIFYLIST MAY NOT WORK.
See note on the menu page.
Enter email here:

Powered by NotifyList.com

2004-06-17 - 9:08 p.m.

THE DANCE

a work of fiction by Julie

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

May - June 2004

Chapter Three -- You Should Be Dancing

Clay ran up to the door at full speed, forgetting that it might be locked, and hit it hard with his shoulder. Ow!! Oh my God, you idiot�

Holly came out of her office, looking for the source of the noise, and smiled at the sharp-dressed man outside, rubbing his arm. She walked quickly to the door and turned the deadbolt. "You okay?" she asked, pushing the door open. "Sorry it was locked, but I'm here by myself tonight. Well, until now. Didn't break anything, did you?"

He gave her a crooked grin and offered an out-of-breath apology as he stepped inside. "I'm so sorry. I'm really really sorry. I knew something would happen and I wouldn't be able to get home first and�" He looked down at his clothes. "Obviously I didn't get to change. Man, I knew I should have brought clothes with me and kept 'em in my car. I'm so sorry. I was just�I wanted to get here as quickly as I could, once I realized I was going to be late. I didn't want to keep you waiting. And I'd have called, but�well, I was driving pretty fast, and�you know."

She looked him up and down. "Well, if you think I'm going to let you off the hook tonight�" She winked at him, took his hand, and pulled him farther into the foyer. "I think we can work with this. Lose the jacket�and the pants. I've got some spare yoga pants in my office you can wear. I think our legs are about the same length. Pretty close anyway. We can make that shirt work�maybe unbutton it a little." She noticed his embarrassment and confused look. "Yoga pants...they're kind of soft, knit pants�black�what?"

Clay fidgeted uncomfortably. "I don't know if I should�I mean, I don't think I can wear your pants."

"They're just pants, Clay." She strode down the hall, into her office, and emerged with a pair of black pants while he took off his jacket and dropped it onto the bench. When his hands were free, she tossed them to him. "Changing rooms are in the back, right behind those curtains. Meet me in the studio when you're ready and we'll get started."

He rounded the corner and stepped behind a woven curtain with a Buddha printed on it. Oh, this isn't going to work. How can I�she's going to think I'm�breathe, Clay. Just breathe. She's waiting.

~~ * ~~ * ~~ * ~~

As he walked nervously into the studio, his arms crossed in front of him and his head down, Holly laughed. "Oh, come on, it's not that bad. This will work just fine. Come here."

They came together in the middle of the room, and she began fiddling with the buttons on his shirt. "You can't have it buttoned up that high�not if you're going to be moving. Loosen up, hon." She noticed a ribbed, tank-style undershirt underneath. "You could just wear this, you know. Lose the stripey one." He shook his head self-consciously. "Okay, it's up to you, but you're gonna get it all sweaty. And what�?" She stepped back, eyeing the legs of the pants. "Why are these so short? They're not like that on me." She circled around behind him. "You must have them pulled up too high. Here, let me�"

Her hands quickly slipped under the back hem of his long, striped shirt, and reached the waist of the knit pants. Before he could protest, her thumbs were underneath the waistband and she was gently tugging the pants down a bit. Immediately she realized why he was acting so shy�she felt the smooth skin of his hips against her thumbs. Time slowed down as she ran her thumbs along the inside of the waistband, straightening it. Nothing. He's not wearing anything under there. Oh my�I never thought he was the type�

She pulled back quickly and noticed he'd covered his face with his hands. He turned to her, peeking through his long fingers, and smiled.

Holly winked at him. "Okay, but you're washing 'em. Let's get started."

She led him to the middle of the room and stood next to him, facing the mirror. "I'll turn the music on in a second�just want you to understand first what we're doing tonight." She took a barrette out of her pocket and pulled her hair back into a high ponytail as she talked. "Let's talk about your feet."

Clay looked down. "What about my feet?"

"Well, not your feet, exactly�feet in general. Our feet are our connection to the Earth. I want you to be aware of your feet tonight�not in an oh my God, what are my feet doing? sort of way, but be mindful of how you place them on the floor, how they are supporting you as you stand, as you move�" She stood with her feet close together, put her arms above her head with her palms together, and a wave moved up her tall frame. "I want you to imagine that you're pressing your feet against the floor, rather than simply standing on it. The types of movements we've been doing so far are the same as what we're going to do tonight, but we're just adding the feet." She noticed his apprehension. "You'll get it. You just need to feel it."

She smiled, and he smiled back uneasily. "Now I want you to stand here like this�put your feet about this far apart, a little wider than your shoulders�relax your knees�find a comfortable stance. You're not going to be moving your feet just yet, but you're going to be dancing with your whole body tonight."

Clay didn't understand. "How can I�can it really be dancing when I'm not moving my feet?" He made some movements similar to what he'd been doing on the stool in weeks past, and wobbled a little. "How am I going to keep from falling over?"

"I think you'll do just fine," she said, looking down at his feet. Good Lord, he's got feet like a Christmas tree stand, he's sure to have good balance. "You might be surprised. But, if you get a little off-balance, you can shift your feet. It's not like I'm gonna swat you with a yardstick if you move them around a little. It's like you're at a concert and you're really enjoying the music�you can't dance, exactly, because there isn't room. But you can't help but move to the music." She walked to the stereo and turned on the music. "I thought we'd start with a little Annie Lennox tonight�just to get centered and relaxed."

I used to be a lunatic from the gracious days
I used to feel woebegone and so restless nights
My aching heart would bleed for you to see

She took her place beside him and closed her eyes. "Just take a deep breath and bring your arms up�connect sky and Earth�open up your chest�let it fall like leaves. And again."

No more I love yous
The language is leaving me
No more I love yous
Changes are shifting
Outside the words

After a minute or so, she opened her eyes and saw that Clay wasn't really participating. He was more self-conscious than ever, and her talk of connecting with the Earth wasn't sitting well with him.

"I'm sorry." He took a few steps backwards and crossed his arms again. "I just don't�I'm not really understanding all this. It's like I'm�I feel like there are all these eyes on me, like people are critiquing me, and it makes me feel�I just don't feel like I can do this. It's just not me."

"Oh, Clay, I wish I knew what to tell you." She turned the music down and returned to his side, taking his hand. "I wish you could just trust me. I don't want to toot my own horn here, but I do know what I'm doing."

"Oh, I know you do�it's not your fault�it's just�"

"But it's my job to help you, and I really thought we were�you were getting somewhere. I don't know how to keep you from feeling that there are people judging you when I'm the only one in the room. You know I'm not looking at you in that way, don't you?"

"I know. And I appreciate it, I really do, but�" He felt lost. Part of him wanted to quit this whole dance-lessons thing, but most of him wanted to stay, not only because of what she could teach him, but because he wanted to spend more time with her.

"We need to get you comfortable, that's all. You need to stop feeling like�"

"A big ol' dweeb?"

She laughed, and he smiled at her�a smile that sent a shiver along her spine. She'd had that feeling around him before, when the man was present. That gave her an idea.

"I've got it!" She took his hand and dragged him, giggling, to the CD rack. "I know what the problem is�we need to get the focus back on�let's see now�I know I have some in here somewhere�"

He was baffled, but enjoyed seeing her so excited. "What are you looking for?"

She wasn't sure if she should tell him that she'd seen clips from his last tour, clips that John had sent to her to give her an idea of what she'd have to work with if she took him on as a student. She couldn't tell him how his performance of When Doves Cry had affected her, but she knew that when he sang that song, he was so engrossed in it that he couldn't be self-conscious. She couldn't tell him how commanding he was onstage, and how much she enjoyed it, because it wouldn't be professional. But she could use the knowledge to her advantage�and his.

"Well, you gave me that CD of your stuff, and there was a Prince song on there, right?" He nodded. "I don't know if I have that song on this compilation I made, but I've got some Prince in here somewhere...here we go!" She flipped the CD case over and looked at the track listing. "Perfect!"

"What's perfect? What are you going to do?" Clay looked over her shoulder as she punched buttons on the CD player.

"Not what I'm going to do, hon�it's what you're going to do." She stood tall and turned to face him. "You're going to sing for me."

"What? Why?"

She took his hands and brought them together in front of him. "I want you to get lost in the song. Think about it. Don't think about anything but expressing yourself. And you're going to move. However the song takes you, go with it. Okay?"

He was nervous, mostly from the way she was looking at him. But it was a good kind of nervous�like the way he felt before going onstage. "But what song is it? How do I�"

"Oh, you know it, I know you do. Very popular song. Everyone knows it. Just sing it for me�and we'll see what happens. Don't worry about that other stuff for right now. Just show me what ya got." She hit Play on the stereo, nudged the volume up a little, then practically skipped to the center of the mirrored wall, leaning against the barre.

The music started, and he recognized it instantly. He began to sing along before he even fully realized what song it was. She was right�everyone knows this song. I can do this. He strode confidently to the center of the room, looking at her out of the corner of his eye, as he began to sing.

I guess I should�ve known by the way you parked your car sideways
That it wouldn't last

As he reached "center stage", he stood with his legs apart, and pointed towards her.

See, you're the kinda person that believes in makin' out once
Love 'em and leave 'em fast

As the song continued, he started to realize what he was singing, and, for a moment, he wasn't comfortable with it. I can't sing this�this isn't my kind of song, but�look at her. Look at her smiling at me. She wants me to do this, and I have to trust her judgement. His temporary nervousness, combined with some confusion about the lyrics, caused Clay to miss a few words, but Prince kept right on singing.

I guess I must be dumb 'cause you had a pocket full of horses
Trojan and some of them used

He got back on track and back in control again. He took a few steps towards her, running his fingers along the buttons of his shirt, causing the remaining few to come undone.

But it was Saturday night, I guess that makes it all right
And you say "What have I got to lose?"

It worked. It worked just like she'd hoped. His inhibitions were leaving him, and the man had returned. And so had the tingly feeling the first time she'd seen that look. A feeling which got stronger as she watched him caress his stomach, pressing his palm against it, moving his undershirt slightly and rocking his hips forward.

And honey, I say Little Red Corvette
Baby, you're much too fast
Little Red Corvette
You need a love that's gonna last

Even though it wasn't a song he would ever perform in public, he was feeling okay about performing it just for her. Better than okay. Her reaction to it�the way her body moved, the way she wrapped her fingers around the barre and slid her hand sensually along it, the way she watched him with such intensity that he could almost feel her gaze as it traveled up and down his body�it was more powerful than singing in front of an arena full of screaming women had ever been. Every one of her movements was met by a movement of his own, in ways that could never happen in a room where he was aware of thousands of eyes upon him. It was this song, this moment, this woman who was inspiring him this way. And he might have gotten through the entire song, had he not become suddenly aware that he was wearing soft knit pants with nothing underneath.

He turned his back quickly and giggled, tugging the hem of his shirt down. "I'm sorry, I think I don't know the words to the rest of it." Think about something�anything�oh God, make it stop. He put his hands on his hips, trying to act casual, and looked over his shoulder at her while he strolled towards the back of the room. "Was that what you wanted me to do? Um�I mean, that wasn't dancing or anything."

"You think that wasn't dancing?" She knew he was embarrassed just then, and she knew exactly why. She had noticed him getting more and more excited as he sang to her, but she wasn't about to indicate that, because she didn't want to add to the embarrassment. She walked and turned off the song so he would know she wasn't watching him. "You were definitely dancing, Clay. I think I see your problem. You see dancing as this big complicated thing, when it's not. Dancing isn't all step-ball-change and jazz hands. It's moving to music, and you do that very well. Extremely well, actually." Maybe he's not aware he's doing it? No, that can't be it. He's just got that part of him that's so shy he can't believe he's really dancing. She peeked over at him, and saw that he wasn't facing her just yet. "Everyone has the things they can do really well, and the things they could do better. There's always someone who's better than you are at something, but I'll bet no matter who they are, you could out-sing them without even thinking about it, right? Just remember�I'm not trying to make you into something you're not. I'm just showing you what you can do, if you'd just let yourself. And you can dance, Clay. I know you can. I've seen it."

He scratched the back of his head, then smoothed his hair as he turned around. "Maybe you're right. Maybe I am a little better than I think I am. You're not the first person to tell me that�but then, lots of people have told me otherwise."

Holly started up another CD and joined him in front of the mirror. "And on that note, we're going to dance. Try not to think about what you can't do�just concentrate on what you can do, and what you want to do. Okay?"

He smiled at her as the powerful voice of Annie Lennox began to fill the room again.

Don't know why I love ya like I do
With all the changes you put me through

"Just worry about the feet for now. Don't even think about your upper body yet. When you're comfortable with this step, add whatever else to it you want�shoulders, arms, whatever. Start with the right foot�forward�to the back�out to the side�and in. Left forward�back�side�and together. Okay? Front�back�side�shoop. Other foot front�back�side�shoop. Keep going."

It took a few passes before he got it down, but it was simple enough that he could follow it without worrying about getting out of step. Holly soon started swinging her hips and arms rhythmically, leading with her shoulder on each downbeat. By the second chorus, he was confident enough in his footwork that he could enjoy the music, and he stopped trying to follow her movements, creating his own.

Take me to the river
Drop me in the water
Take me to the river
Dip me in the water
Washing me down

Normally, Holly would switch up the steps a few times during each song, but he'd been so nervous about getting the steps wrong, she decided to hold off until the next song before she sprung a new step on him. When the jangly guitars of Talking Heads kicked in, she took him in another direction.

"All right hon, watch me. First to the right�three steps..and pause. Now left�bump�bump�bump�and pause. If you want to cross behind on the second step, do it if it feels comfortable. However you want. Just four counts this way, and four counts that way. Got it? Same as before. Do whatever feels right."

This time he caught on much more quickly, just as she knew he would. They moved together, side by side, laughingly putting silly flourishes at the end of each measure.

The world was moving and she was right there with it, and she was
The world was moving she was floating above it, and she was

"Okay, right foot forward�go!" She returned to the step they had done to the last song, confident that he wouldn't stumble from the change. Clay didn't miss a beat, and his enthusiasm was apparent in his every move as he smiled with his entire body.

She was glad about it
No doubt about it
She isn't sure where she's gone
No time to think about what to tell them
No time to think about what she's done
And she was

They swtiched effortlessly back to the previous step, and even into a new, more complicated one. His confidence was so high that he forgot he'd ever felt awkward about dancing. Meeting her eyes in the mirror, he was finally certain of his feelings for her�everything about her. Her sense of humor, her sense of self, her strength, her belief in him�and her radiance. There was more than a physical attraction this time. She wasn't simply a beautiful woman who intrigued him, she was completely captivating. And she'd given him something so special, he wasn't sure he could ever repay the favor.

The song transitioned smoothly into the next, and the energy level in the room could no longer be contained.

"Let's go!" Holly crossed in front of him, holding her hand out as if he should take it, but she was too far away before he realized it. She was skipping and jumping and spinning around the room, and he took off after her, matching her enthusiasm step for step.

I used to think maybe you loved me
Now baby I'm sure
And I just can�t wait �till the day
When you knock on my door
Now every time I go for the mailbox
Gotta hold myself down
�Cause I just can't wait �till you write me
You're coming around

He closed his eyes and spun around, which he hadn't done since he was a little boy. His happiness bubbled up in endless giggles as he became lightheaded and stumbled for a moment. He stretched his arms out to his sides like an airplane and ran across the room, chasing after her. She managed to keep from being caught until the final refrain, when she turned to face him, and he picked her up in his arms and spun her around.

I�m walking on sunshine, wo-oah
I�m walking on sunshine, wo-oah
I�m walking on sunshine, wo-oah
And don�t it feel good!!

At first, Holly hugged him back, even after he lowered her feet to the floor. She ran her hands around him to touch his chest, looking dreamily into his eyes. But Clay felt his heart sink a little when her expression changed, and she took a step away from him.

"Good class." She brushed imaginary lint off of her leggings and made only occasional, brief eye contact. "You feel better about the 'dancing thing' now?"

"I feel great. I don't know how I can thank you for�everything." He wanted to approach her, to touch her again, but he sensed that she had become uncomfortable. "I don't know how you do it, Holly. You're absolutely incredible."

"Thanks, but you did all the work. I'm not�um�it was you. But thanks, though. A few more weeks and you'll be a pro."

She crossed her arms over her chest and walked briskly towards the large wooden doors. Clay stood in the studio for a moment, confused. Maybe I shouldn't have picked her up like that. Maybe she really isn't interested in me. But didn't she�wasn't she�how could she have been looking at me like that when she made me sing to her? I guess that's all it was. The song�me singing�it wasn't about me. She's just not interested, I guess.

He heard her at the reception desk, the whirring of the register as she closed it out for the day. He headed to where he'd stacked his clothes on the bench, slipped his shoes back on without putting on his socks, and bundled up his jacket and slacks under his arm. He saw her glance up at him quickly, with an almost embarrassed look on her face, as she nervously stacked and restacked business cards and flyers on the counter.

"I'll, uh�if it's okay, I'll bring your pants back tomorrow. Oh no, wait�tomorrow is no good. Is Friday okay? Can I see you Friday afternoon?"

"Friday is fine. I'm here all day." I'm here all day every day, what difference does it make? Where else would I be? She went to the front door, turned the latch, and held it open for him. "So, I'll see you Friday then." She saw how dejected he was, and felt terrible. He'd been so happy only a few moments before, and he couldn't revel in his success. This is all my fault. I had no right�

"Friday it is, then." He approached the door, and bravely put his hand on her shoulder, raising one finger to softly touch her cheek before passing through. "Thank you, Holly. I really appreciate everything you've done for me. Everything."

She closed the door behind him and watched him walk to his car, then turned her back so that he couldn't see the tears running down her cheeks. There you go again, Holly. There you go again.

go to The Dance -- Chapter Four

Sign my guestbook!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!